Turning 21 Was The Best Day Of My Life

This past-past weekend was the weekend I’ve been waiting for my whole life. I finally turned 21!!!!  It was everything I imagined and more. Literally one of the best weekends I’ve EVER had.

I started off the weekend early on Thursday night by treating myself to a shellac manicure. I was super impressed with the salon and the woman who did my nails, not to mention the fact that they’re completely dry as soon as you’re done?! Crazy. I forgot to take a picture, but I’ll definitely be back for another one. It’s been almost three weeks and I just noticed my first chip today! Between waitressing and typing lecture notes everyday, my regular polish chips almost immediately, so needless to say I was very impressed.

 Brock got into town right after I finished up at my nail appointment, so I picked him up and got to open my gift right away!
Image
He’s obviously a keeper 😉
Brock also happened to bring up some fancy merlot (Franzia is fancy right?), so after opening my present we had a birthday toast in my new stemless wine glasses.
Image
After that we headed over to my friend Zoe’s for a pre-birthday celebration with my favorite friends.
ImageImage(Okay, I know this is an awful picture, but I had to include one of the Beautiful Blue Jay.)
We called it a night pretty early because I still had class, a meeting, and a workout to do on Friday, but I’ll skip all of that boring stuff.
Once I finished all my official work for the week, me, Brock, and my BFF Adora met up with my family for my birthday dinner! We went to Vintage Brewing Company (http://vintagebrewingcompany.com/) and it was awesome. I had the Friday night fish fry and it was enormous! We also had to celebrate with a brownie sundae of course. My mom is seriously the best present wrapper. Image
Image
After dinner we met up with friends for some more pre-birthday birthday celebrations including getting my BIRTHDAY SASH
Image
Saturday consisted of shopping and eating delicious Indian food during the day, and resting up for the OFFICIAL BIRTHDAY SHENANIGANS!
 Image
Since my real birthday was on Sunday, our original plan was to break open the pinata at midnight when I was officially, for real, 21 but we didn’t last that long. The only object we had to bust it open was a hammer, which turned out to be a lot harder than expected…
 Image
Image
We spent the hours leading up to midnight eating pizza and s’more brownies my cutest friend Rachel made (she said she knew what to make for me because she stalked my Pinterest boards. So smart!), and taking pictures, naturally.
Image
Image
Image
Image
When it was FINALLY midnight, we popped a bottle of pink bubbly that Brock brought. It was the perfect way to kick off the night!
Image
….Obviously sober.
There’s a bar/restaurant in Madison called The Nitty Gritty (http://www.nittygrittybirthdayplace.com/) and it’s the typical birthday spot; on your birthday you get a balloon, free beer or soda all night, and discounted drinks in a take home birthday mug. The Nitty was our first stop, and the location of my FIRST LEGAL drink, tequila and pineapple juice. From what I can remember it was delicious…
Image
Apparently taking coherent pictures was hard at this point of the night….
Image
Image
Our next stop was Wando’s because I was determined to drink a birthday fishbowl. I ran into two of my beautiful sorority sisters, which was such a good surprise.
Image
For some reason my friends and Brock didn’t think it was a good idea to finish the whole fishbowl by myself? Friends don’t let friends finish fishbowls on their own.
Image
Image
Image
Obviously it was a good time 😉
The next morning I slept in and Brock couldn’t even complain because I was the birthday princess and therefore got to do whatever I wanted and it was so great. When we were finally all up and moving, we decided to walk around downtown and find somewhere to eat and more importantly drink. My roommate let me know that one of the mexican restaurants downtown gives you a free margarita on your birthday, and that was all I needed to hear to make my decision. I was expecting a regular size margarita butttt….
Image
21 OUNCES. The equivalent of a pitcher. To myself. So it’s safe to say Diego’s (http://diegosmadison.com/) is my new favorite restaurant and I will be coming here for every birthday until I die. I didn’t think I would be able to finish it, but I made Brock and Adora help me and soon enough….
Image
Mission accomplished. So that’s what I did with my Sunday afternoon….
After lunch we walked around a little more and I made my first ever (legal) purchase from a liquor store! Peach bubbly, naturally. Since it was a Sunday, Adora and Brock both had to leave me, but I’m working on trying to forgive them. My friend Rachel and I had plans to get dinner that night, and we ended up going back to The Nitty…I couldn’t pass up free booze!
Image
We planned on going out afterwards again, but I was exhausted and really just wanted to go hang out. So I went home and read and watched Netflix in bed.
Hey, it was my birthday, if being lame is what I want to do, it’s allowed.
This was honestly one of the best weekends I have ever had, and it made me realize how absolutely wonderful all my friends and family are. So thank you to everyone who helped make my birthday so so so great. I am beyond blessed. 🙂
Leave a Reply!

