Zorbing!

Almost two weeks later, and I’m finally getting around to writing about Zorbing…oops. But sometimes really important things come up, like drinking tequila by the river school work.

So before I even knew if I had been accepted to come to New Zealand, I saw Zorbing on Pinterest and immediately added it to my NZ Bucket List. We were actually able to find a Groupon-type deal and ended up only paying around $22 (it’s usually around $45) so we were extra excited.

 We went to Ogo instead of Zorb–same concept and everything, just a different company– and loved it. The staff was super friendly and they had a hot tub for us to jump in after our ride, so naturally it was love at first sight. ImageImageImage

After signing in and changing into our swim suits, the six of us divided up into three groups of two. I’m really glad we decided to go down in doubles instead of singles, it was super fun to have someone to laugh and roll around with. The track we went down was 200 meters long and completely straight. Basically just down a long hill. There were two tracks right next to each other, which was perfect because that meant we got to race. Paxton, Carolyn, Rachel and I went up first. Sidenote: I have no idea what to call the actual zorbing-device. Zorb? Ogo? Hamster wheel? I’m going to keep it simple and stick to “ball” from this point forward.

ImageImageImage

Before you get in, they put a little less than a foot of warm water (that is a complete estimate, I actually have absolutely no idea) into the bottom of the ball. Then, to get in you literally swan dive through this tiny little hole on one side of the ball. Once you’re inside, they give you a Go Pro camera so that you can record all the shenanigans on the way down. Once you’re inside the ball, you can’t see anything outside, which was not what I expected but it ended up making it a lot more fun. You tumble around so much there’s no way you could see anything outside anyway.

ImageImage

In case you’re wondering, yes, that is a pirate temporary tattoo on my bicep. No one should be surprised by this.ImageImage

You’re supposed to stand up in the beginning and run to get the ball to start down the hill, but it was so slippery that Pax and I tried to stand up but couldn’t and basically flopped into the front of the ball. Once it started rolling it was impossible to get up. I thought it would feel like being inside of a hamster ball and that you would basically be spinning around a lot, but I was totally wrong. You’re pretty much just sliding around and trying not to kick the other person in the face. We were worried that the track we picked would be too short, but once we were actually rolling down the hill it seemed a lot longer than it looked. ImageImageImageImage

I realize this does not really sound fun at all, and it actually seems a little painful, but I promise it was SO cool! Definitley worth the twenty big ones.

To get out of the ball, you come feet first. Yes, this did oddly resemble water birth and yes, it was somewhat awkward.

Image

We had a quick photo sesh once we hopped out and then beelined it straight for the hot tub. It was so funny to watch everyone else go down because you could see them flopping around everywhere and hear them screaming. Hysterical.

ImageImage

Bottom line: GO ZORBING. It’s super fun and you get crazy good bragging rights.

Here’s a link to the Go Pro footage of us inside the Zorb if you want to check it out!!

https://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=10151364745637443

So there ya have it! Better late than pregnant never! Enjoy the rest of your day! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Zorbing!

  1. Looks like so much fun! I’ve always wanted to do this but was a bit scared that the actual experience would be horrible. I’ll definitely have to try at some point! And thanks so much for following through Bloglovin’ 🙂

    • You should definitely do it, I was a little worried too, but I ended up totally loving it! I would recommend the water one though, the dry one sounds a little painful…

  2. This looks like so much fun! I want to try that so bad! 🙂 Thanks for checking out my blog earlier. I’ve only read this post, but I adore your writing style and am happily following back. Can’t wait to read more!

    Patricia

Leave a Reply!

