Weekend Recap

For some reason, this felt like my official first weekend in Chicago, even though I’ve technically been moved in for two weeks now (and have gone out downtown a million times before I officially moved here). Maybe because I didn’t have to work all weekend, so I could really do the damn thing and go out Friday and Saturday night.

My brother ended up being able to come into the city to check out my new (awesome, adorable, perfect) apartment which was super exciting because he was the first of my family to come over! So I gave him the grand tour and then we got down to business aka drinking and playing music videos on our new Apple TV– I’m obsessed. Felt like I was at a Juvenile concert, so basically like I was in heaven. We stayed around the Lincoln Park area and had lots of fun and shots before heading back and having a slumber party. Actually, everyone passed out as soon as we got back and left me to play by myself, so not an ideal slumber party as it turns out. But it was still great to catch up with my brother and show off our fancy new place.  The only pictures I have from this night involve my brother and my cousin passed out on different couches, so I think I’ll just have to leave that to your imagination.

Saturday I unfortunately woke up at 7:30 when my brother was leaving my place, so I self medicated with Orange is the New Black. I don’t know if it’s just me, but I’m not as into this season as I was with the last two. It seems a little overdramatic and I feel like some of the story lines are a little played out. Don’t get me wrong, I still watched for a solid three-plus hours, I just wasn’t on the edge of my seat like I was expecting to be. I spent the rest of the day meeting with the landlord and running a few last minute errands before getting ready to watch the Hawks game.

I met up with some friends at HVAC in Wrigleyville for the game, but I was pretty underwhelmed.(Also, side story: My uber driver kept asking me if I smoked pot and told me that he would bring some over to my house and we could smoke together and then he fist bumped me and dropped me off a block from my destination.) It was PACKED (they were running a $30, all you can drink special between 6-9) and we had a really bad view of the TV so I honestly didn’t even watch the game and instead focused on my drinking. We ended up leaving the bar early and heading to my roommate’s friends house to actually watch the end of the game and keep taking shots.

Our night eventually ended at Hang Up’s (like any great night should) and involved me wearing a rubber chicken mask and taking whiskey shots with middle aged men. I wish I could say this was out of the ordinary, but it actually was a fairly typical Saturday for me.

Screen shot 2015-07-08 at 10.45.05 AM

 

Sunday I was up bright and early to head back to Rockford for my friend Nicole’s bridal shower. I hadn’t seen Nicole since probably high school, so I was super excited to be reunited and have a free boozy brunch. The shower was so much fun and they even had a red velvet Blackhawk’s cake so I was pretty much in heaven. (My roommates sent me a picture of them doing yoga in our basement just as I was having my second piece of cake and my fifth cocktail.)

Nicole’s best friend Liz couldn’t be there because she is in the Marines and is currently stationed in Japan, so Nicole’s mom made a fake Liz for us to play with. She bought a blow up doll and camo clothes (including high heels) on Amazon and taped a picture of Liz’s face to the doll. Almost the same as the real thing, but way less drunk than the real Liz would have been.

LB

After the shower I ran a few errands and hung out with my mom and my kitty, and then my sister and I met some friends for dinner at Rockford Brewing Company. They have a really great beer selection, some killer buffalo chicken dip, and a cute dock on the river, so it was a fun way to enjoy the one nice day we had last week. I ended up getting back to Chicago around 12:30 and immediately passed the fuck out. I am turning into such a grandma these days, I can’t party like I’m 19 anymore and it makes me sad.

brew

Hope everyone is having a good start to their week!

Leave a Reply!

